products
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
products

products and price

You are not connected. Please login or register

My Favourite Playing Card Games

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1My Favourite Playing Card Games Empty My Favourite Playing Card Games Fri Dec 11, 2020 4:34 am

Admin

Admin

<p>I have been collecting items connected to card play for many years and my various collections contain hundreds of pieces all of which have a part to play in the social history of <a href="https://www.wjplayingcards.com/product" rel="noopener noreferrer" target="_blank"><strong>playing card</strong></a> games.&nbsp;</p><p><br></p><p>I have frequently been asked which are your favourite items? Mostly this was probably due to people seeking to cut short any protracted attempt on my part to interest them in the history of games. Nevertheless, it got me thinking about which were my favourite collectables, and, if so, what criteria would I use to choose them?</p><p><br></p><p>I am particularly attracted by quality. The workmanship on some of my items is extraordinary. Beautifully handcrafted wood and leather conjures lovely images of 19th century craftsmen and women expressing themselves with skills few would be able to exercise today. Ingenuity of design is also a big draw. When competing in a crowded market-place for custom, 19th century inventors produced some wonderful designs, most of which work today as well as they did when they were sold well over a century ago. I love items which individually or with others tell a story. I have always been fascinated by the evolution of whist through various stages to the modern game of contract bridge.&nbsp;</p><p><br></p><p>Collectors are always on the lookout for the unusual. There are so many items which, despite their age, are commonplace because so many were produced in their heyday. So, it is nice to find something which is out of the ordinary. We also prize items